Companies/Hydrostor Inc.

Hydrostor Inc.

Power & Grid
PrivateToronto, OntarioFounded 2010hydrostor.ca

Hydrostor runs the first commercial advanced compressed air energy storage plant, a 1.75 MW facility in Goderich, Ontario, and puts its development pipeline at 7 GW. Between those two numbers sit a 500 MW California licence, a US$1.76 billion conditional federal loan and no confirmed financial close on any utility-scale project. China already operates larger fuel-free compressed air plants, 300 MW and 600 MW, built on a different cavern design. Goderich has been in commercial operation for six years, and Hydrostor has published no measured round-trip efficiency for it.

Operating capacity
1.75 MWGoderich, Ontario; >10 MWh, 7 MWh contracted
Willow Rock
500 MW4,000 MWh, licensed Dec 2025, not financed
DOE loan
$1.76Bconditional since Jan 2025, not closed
Round-trip efficiency
60-65%company claim; none measured at Goderich
Hydrostor is private and files nothing. Outside the California Energy Commission docket, the January 2025 Department of Energy announcement and the New South Wales planning consent and court ruling, almost every figure below originates with the company or its counterparties, and is labelled as a company claim where it does. Figures and status as of August 2026.

Overview

Hydrostor is a Toronto company, founded in 2010, that develops advanced compressed air energy storage, or A-CAES. Grid electricity compresses air into a purpose-built underground cavern, the heat of compression is stored separately, and the two are recombined to drive a generator when the grid wants power back. The company has offices in Toronto, Melbourne, Adelaide and Denver, the last of which it named its U.S. headquarters. It has never published a global headcount; the only staffing figure it has given is a plan to grow the Denver office past 30 full-time employees. Curtis VanWalleghem, a co-founder, is chief executive. Jon Norman is president and Beth Summers is chief financial officer.

The built record is one plant. The Goderich Energy Storage Centre in Ontario is rated 1.75 MW and has operated commercially for Ontario's Independent Electricity System Operator since August 2020. Everything else in Hydrostor's materials is pre-construction. Willow Rock in California, at 500 MW, holds a state licence, a conditional federal loan commitment, three offtake contracts and an early grading package. Silver City in New South Wales, at 200 MW, holds planning consent and a land lease. Quinte in Ontario, at 500 MW, was announced in May 2026 and is entering permitting. Hydrostor's operating fleet is roughly 1/285th of a single Willow Rock.

The 7 GW figure Hydrostor uses in press releases describes projects in development in Canada, the United States, Australia and the United Kingdom. It has no independent verification and no published project-by-project breakdown, and the company's current website drops the number in favour of "an extensive pipeline of A-CAES projects" across three continents. An earlier release, from January 2022, put the projects then well underway at 1.1 GW and 8.7 GWh. Investors named across its announcements include Goldman Sachs Alternatives, Canada Growth Fund, CPP Investments, Baker Hughes, Hatch and Realize Capital Partners.

How A-CAES works

Charging runs grid electricity through a compressor. The heat of compression is captured in heat exchangers and stored in pressurised water rather than vented, and the compressed air goes into a purpose-built underground cavern. Discharging returns that stored heat to the air, which then drives an expander and a generator. No fuel is burned. That is the difference from the two legacy compressed air plants at Huntorf in Germany and McIntosh in Alabama, both of which burn natural gas to reheat the air on the way out.

Hydrostatic compensation is the distinguishing element. The cavern is connected to a surface water reservoir by a shaft and sits flooded, pressurised by the weight of the water column above it. Charging pushes water up the shaft into the surface reservoir; discharging lets the water fall back in and displace the air. The cavern therefore stays at close to constant pressure across the cycle instead of falling as air is withdrawn. Hydrostor described the mechanism in a technical submission to Nova Scotia Power's integrated resource planning process and holds a U.S. patent on the arrangement, number 11,835,023.

The claimed commercial consequence is siting. Because the cavern is excavated rather than found, Hydrostor says the technology is not restricted to salt domes or depleted reservoirs the way legacy CAES is, and it claims a surface footprint up to 1/20th that of an equivalent pumped hydro facility. Both are company claims, and neither has been independently verified.

The largest fuel-free compressed air plants now operating are in China. Nengchu-1 at Yingcheng in Hubei is rated 300 MW / 1,500 MWh and entered commercial operation in January 2025, storing air in an abandoned salt mine about 600 metres deep. Its builder, China Energy Engineering Corporation, calls it the world's first "full green, non-supplementary combustion" 300 MW compressed air project. A 600 MW / 2.4 GWh plant at Huai'an in Jiangsu, two 300 MW non-combustion units, was reported switched on in January 2026. Both sit in existing salt caverns and neither uses hydrostatic compensation, which leaves Goderich as the only operating plant of Hydrostor's design. Chinese state media put Nengchu-1's system conversion efficiency at about 70%, a number that comes from the operator and is no better audited than Hydrostor's own.

Goderich: the operating record

Goderich discharges at 1.75 MW peak and charges at 2.2 MW. Hydrostor's project page gives storage of more than 10 MWh, of which 7 MWh is contracted. The plant sells less than it can hold. At the rated discharge, 10 MWh implies roughly 5.7 hours and the contracted 7 MWh about 4 hours, which is arithmetic on the published ratings rather than a measured duration. A figure of "up to 15 MWh" circulates in secondary write-ups and appears in no Hydrostor document located for this profile.

The plant was developed jointly with NRStor Inc. and inaugurated in November 2019, about two years after construction began, with commercial operation for the IESO starting in August 2020. Hydrostor's project page lists an in-service date of 2019, which refers to completion of the plant rather than the start of commercial operation. The IESO arrangement covers peaking capacity, ancillary services and full participation in the merchant energy market; secondary sources describe a 10-year term, which could not be confirmed in an IESO document. The ownership split between Hydrostor and NRStor has never been disclosed. Public and quasi-public support named at completion includes Export Development Canada, Sustainable Development Technology Canada and the Government of Ontario through Ontario Centres of Excellence, alongside a US$37 million growth financing, and Natural Resources Canada added roughly C$500,000 in April 2021 under the Energy Innovation Program.

Efficiency is where the record thins out. Hydrostor publicly uses a round-trip efficiency of around 60% to 65% for A-CAES, which is a claim about the technology as a class rather than a measurement at Goderich. The peer-reviewed literature repeats a figure of roughly 60% for the plant: Sarmast, Rouindej, Fraser and Dusseault, writing in Applied Energyin March 2024, say the 1.75 MW Goderich plant "has reported efficiencies around 60%," and then qualify it. Those reported efficiencies are not identified as averages, medians or maximums, nor is it stated whether they come from short-term or long-term operation. The paper repeats a reported number; it does not measure one.

Six years into commercial operation, the plant has no published, independently audited round-trip efficiency. Hydrostor's own Goderich page carries no efficiency figure at all. Nor is there any availability figure, capacity factor, cycle count or dispatch record, from Hydrostor, from NRStor or from the IESO. The nearest company statement is that the plant conforms to all interconnection, uptime, performance and dispatch standards set out by the IESO, which is a compliance assertion rather than a performance number.

Projects

Willow Rock Energy Storage Center, Kern County, California500 MW / 4,000 MWh · licensed, not financed
Rated 500 MW and 4,000 MWh, described by Hydrostor as 8-plus hours, sited near Rosamond in eastern Kern County. The California Energy Commission granted the final power plant licence on December 19, 2025, and Hydrostor has until December 2030 to begin construction before it must ask the commission for an extension. On January 7, 2025 the Department of Energy's Loan Programs Office issued a conditional commitment of up to US$1.76 billion to GEM A-CAES, LLC, a subsidiary of Hydrostor USA Holdings, Inc.: up to US$1.481 billion of principal and up to US$279 million of capitalised interest. DOE's own language is explicit that a conditional commitment shows intent to finance, and that environmental review must be completed and technical, legal, environmental and financial conditions satisfied before definitive documents are signed and the loan funded. As of August 2026 the loan is still conditional and no closing has been announced. Loan Programs Office lending was placed under review in February 2025 and DOE subsequently cancelled more than US$7.5 billion of federal financial awards; reporting indicates Hydrostor continued working with DOE and that this loan was not among the cancellations.Three offtake contracts cover 310 MW of the 500 MW rating, summed from the announced deals. Central Coast Community Energy takes 200 MW / 1,600 MWh over 25 years. That contract was announced in January 2023 at US$775 million and has been amended three times: a December 2023 amendment extending the commercial operation date by 18 months to give Hydrostor more time to secure financing; a December 2024 amendment setting a November 23, 2025 deadline to commence financing and construction, after Southern California Edison transmission upgrades slipped; and an April 2025 amendment raising the value to US$895 million, a 15.5% increase, with a further 13-month delay attributed to permitting and interconnection difficulties alongside inflation and higher financing and delivery costs. The US$775 million figure still repeated in secondary coverage is stale. California Community Power signed for 50 MW / 400 MWh in February 2026 on behalf of six community choice aggregators, and Clean Energy Alliance signed for 60 MW in August 2026 on terms that were not disclosed.Granite Construction holds a roughly US$31 million early works grading package covering an 89-acre site, a 9-acre pad to support drilling and excavation of a cavern of about 1.3 million cubic yards at approximately 2,000 feet depth, offsite road improvements, onsite stormwater basins and laydown areas. Work began in July 2026 and is scheduled to finish in March 2027. That spending precedes both financial close and the closing of the DOE loan. It is at-risk development capital, which is ordinary in the industry. Hydrostor expects commissioning in 2030 and claims 700 peak construction jobs, 25 to 40 full-time operations jobs, more than US$500 million of regional direct and indirect economic impact, a design life above 50 years, and enough output to power more than 400,000 homes for more than 8 hours. No company-confirmed total capital cost has been published.
Quinte Energy Storage Centre, Greater Napanee, Ontario500 MW / 4,000 MWh · permitting
Announced on May 13, 2026 for Lennox and Addington County, with a first phase of 500 MW / 4,000 MWh and later phases targeting 8 GWh to 16 GWh. The Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte are the Indigenous equity partner; the equity percentage is not disclosed. The May release says the project now begins the permitting process with the Greater Napanee community and with provincial and federal agencies. Hydrostor had already named Quinte publicly about 15 months earlier, in the February 2025 funding release that earmarked part of a US$50 million Canada Growth Fund facility to it.Hydrostor puts first-phase operation in the early 2030s; trade coverage cites schedules around 2033 to 2034. Hydrostor also estimates thousands of jobs during construction, approximately 40 permanent positions over an anticipated 50-year operating life, and total economic impact expected to exceed C$1.4 billion in contributions to Canada's GDP. Those are company estimates with no published methodology behind them.
Silver City Energy Storage Centre, Broken Hill, New South Wales200 MW / 1,600 MWh · consented
Rated 200 MW / 1,600 MWh at 8 hours, intended under the 2023 Transgrid agreement to give Broken Hill backup power as early as 2027. Hydrostor signed a network service agreement with Transgrid in December 2023 after being selected as the preferred option in Transgrid's Project Assessment Conclusions Report, and holds a Long-Term Energy Service Agreement awarded by AEMO Services under the NSW Electricity Infrastructure Roadmap, on terms that are not public. The NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure approved development consent in February 2025, and Hydrostor signed a land lease with the NSW Government.In March 2026 the NSW Land and Environment Court upheld an appeal brought by Outback Astronomy, a local tourism operator. The consent stands with amended conditions, and the amendments attach to operations. Hydrostor must demonstrate operational lighting compliance within 12 months of operations starting and noise compliance for up to 3 years after that, reporting both to Outback Astronomy. It must consult the operator on two new management plans, and the obligations hold across the plant's 50-year operational life, with reports to the NSW Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure. February 2025 reporting said Hydrostor expected financial close and a construction start by the end of that year, for commissioning in 2028. Neither has been confirmed in any source located.

Funding & partnerships

Hydrostor's disclosed capital comes in preferred equity, convertible notes and a development loan facility, each at a different level of the capital structure. In January 2022 Goldman Sachs Asset Management committed US$250 million of preferred equity, and the release states that Goldman would fund in tranches tied to project milestones to match Hydrostor's capital needs, which makes the headline an upper bound drawn over time rather than cash received. Three Goldman representatives joined the board: Charlie Gailliot, Sebastien Gagnon and Gunduz Shirin. In February 2025 the company announced US$200 million in two further instruments, neither of them common equity: a US$150 million convertible note commitment from Canada Growth Fund Inc., Goldman Sachs Alternatives and CPP Investments at the corporate level, and a separate US$50 million convertible development expenditure loan facility from Canada Growth Fund alone, drawn against development spending on Canadian projects including Quinte.

Hydrostor announced a US$230 million equity investment on August 12, 2026. It includes the previously announced convertible note commitments from Canada Growth Fund Inc., Goldman Sachs Alternatives and CPP Investments, so it does not sit on top of the February 2025 US$200 million. The new element is a strategic equity round with Baker Hughes, Hatch, Realize Capital Partners, a Social Finance Fund wholesaler and undisclosed others. Hydrostor says the money funds development of the 7 GW pipeline and will take Willow Rock to financial close later this year.

Hydrostor publishes no cumulative total raised, and adding these commitments together would produce a figure the company has not stated.

Baker Hugheshas been an investor since 2019 and expanded that on January 28, 2026 with a strategic technology and equity agreement, announced at its annual meeting in Florence, covering up to 1.4 GW of Baker Hughes compression, expander, motor and generator equipment for Hydrostor's flagship projects. Hatch, the Canadian engineering firm, announced a project execution partnership and equity agreement on February 25, 2026 and will lead the design and execution of Willow Rock. Neither company disclosed the size of its investment, the stake acquired or the valuation.

Strategy & outlook

Hydrostor's stated case rests on what A-CAES buys with the efficiency it gives up. The company told POWER magazine in 2020 that the technology's synchronous capacity and flexible siting matter to grid operators, a benefit it said outweighs the impact of slightly lower round-trip efficiency, and it points to a design life above 50 years against the shorter replacement cycle of a battery. The comparison it draws is between a cavern that provides inertia and lasts five decades and a lithium-ion system that gets augmented and replaced.

The most detailed public critique comes from Michael Barnard, an individual commentator writing on CleanTechnica, an outlet with a stated advocacy orientation, in a May 2026 piece on Quinte. On efficiency, he sets A-CAES at 60% to 65% against lithium-ion at 85% to 95% DC: a 65% system needs roughly 6.2 GWh of input to deliver 4 GWh, against roughly 4.4 GWh for a 90% battery, so every delivered MWh costs about 40% more input energy. On capital cost he puts Quinte at C$3.0 billion to C$4.0 billion, with C$3.5 billion as his planning case, against C$1.3 billion to C$1.8 billion for an equivalent lithium-ion build. His benchmark is Oneida, Canada's largest battery storage facility at 250 MW / 1 GWh, which came in at roughly C$700 million against a C$800 million estimate at financial close in 2023 and reached commercial operation in May 2025 ahead of schedule. That is a delivered cost rather than a budget, which makes it a firmer benchmark. He argues 2035 to 2038 is a more defensible schedule than the public 2033 to 2034. One risk he names has no battery analogue: geotechnical discovery, where cavern conditions become known during construction, when changes are expensive.

The counterweight comes from the cost literature. Peer-reviewed work published in iScience in 2025 finds an experience rate of roughly 15% for adiabatic compressed air storage, comparable to roughly 12% for lithium-ion, and argues that A-CAES could become economic at durations of 10 to 100 hours where the geology cooperates. That same finding sits awkwardly against Hydrostor's current portfolio, because Willow Rock and Quinte are 8-hour systems, inside the duration band where lithium-ion is strongest rather than the 10 to 100 hour band the cost argument favours. Trade coverage puts the same point from the market side, reporting that lithium-ion still outcompetes long-duration alternatives on cost and supply chain maturity, including in the 4 to 8 hour segment. Form Energy, which targets 100-hour durations with iron-air, and Antora Energy, which stores heat for industrial users, sit in different parts of that same market.

The next 12 months turn on Willow Rock. Hydrostor said on August 12, 2026 that the new equity will take the project to financial close later this year, which is a target rather than a closing. Three things decide whether the company gets its first utility-scale plant: whether the DOE commitment converts into a closed loan, whether equity and debt reach that close while Granite's grading package runs to March 2027, and whether the remaining 190 MW of the rating, the balance left by the announced contracts, finds buyers.

Key considerations

No utility-scale Hydrostor project has been confirmed to have reached financial close. Willow Rock had not closed as of August 2026. Silver City's expected end-2025 close was never confirmed either way. Quinte began permitting in May 2026. Goderich was built with a mix of government and quasi-government support plus a US$37 million growth financing, and no source located states whether it reached a conventional project financial close. Private financings are not always announced, so the absence of a public closing is not proof that none occurred. What is on the record is that the Central Coast Community Energy contract has been amended three times, twice explicitly because financing had not been secured on schedule.

Goderich is the one plant that could settle the efficiency question for Hydrostor's design, and it has not. Any assessment of A-CAES economics rests on company figures, on modelling, or on a peer-reviewed number whose own authors say they cannot identify its basis.

Several headline figures are softer than they look. The 7 GW pipeline is a company claim with no project-by-project breakdown, and the company's own releases have used different numbers over time. No company-confirmed capital cost exists for Willow Rock; the roughly US$1.5 billion in circulation is inferred from the DOE principal and repeated by a commentator, which makes it an order of magnitude rather than a budget. The Baker Hughes and Hatch equity amounts are undisclosed. Global headcount is not published. Even the operations headcount for Willow Rock differs between documents: 40 full-time jobs in the January 2025 materials, 25 to 40 on the current project page.

The DOE loan should be read with a date attached. It was conditional in January 2025 and, on the record available in August 2026, conditional still, across a period in which federal loan and grant policy shifted materially.

Sources

This profile was compiled from publicly available information including:

California Energy Commission, Willow Rock Energy Storage Center. Project docket and the final power plant licence of December 19, 2025.

U.S. Department of Energy, Loan Programs Office conditional commitment (January 7, 2025). Borrower, the US$1.76 billion structure, and the conditions that precede funding.

Sarmast, Rouindej, Fraser and Dusseault, "Optimizing near-adiabatic compressed air energy storage (NA-CAES) systems", Applied Energyvol. 357, art. 122465 (March 2024). The reported ~60% Goderich figure and the authors' caveat on its unspecified basis.

Hydrostor company and project pages for Goderich, Willow Rock and Silver City, accessed August 14, 2026, including the more-than-10 MWh and 7 MWh contracted ratings, the leadership list and the siting claims; the Hydrostor contact page listing the Toronto, Melbourne, Adelaide and Denver offices, accessed August 15, 2026; the Hydrostor and NRStor completion release for Goderich (November 25, 2019) and CBC London's coverage that month; POWER magazine on the siting and synchronous capacity argument against lower efficiency (September 1, 2020); Electrical Business on the 2021 Natural Resources Canada contribution; the Goldman Sachs Asset Management preferred equity release (January 10, 2022); the US$200 million convertible financings announced February 13, 2025, with Globe and Mail coverage, and the US$230 million equity release of August 12, 2026; Baker Hughes investor relations on the expanded agreement (January 28, 2026) and Hatch on the execution partnership (February 25, 2026); Energy-Storage.News on the third amendment to the Central Coast Community Energy agreement (November 19, 2025), on the NSW Land and Environment Court ruling, and on the competitive position of long-duration technologies against lithium-ion; Central Coast Community Energy's own contract announcement; Hydrostor's California Community Power (February 12, 2026) and Clean Energy Alliance (August 6, 2026) offtake releases; Granite Construction's early works award (August 12, 2026); Utility Dive on the CEC licence and the December 2030 construction deadline; the Quinte development release (May 13, 2026) with pv magazine coverage; Transgrid's network service agreement release (December 7, 2023) and RenewEconomy on the NSW development consent; Hydrostor's submission to Nova Scotia Power's integrated resource plan and U.S. patent 11,835,023 for the hydrostatic compensation description; Michael Barnard, CleanTechnica (May 20, 2026); "Cost-reducing adiabatic compressed air energy storage for long duration energy-storage applications," iScience(2025), for the 15% and 12% experience rates and the 10 to 100 hour finding; China Daily and People's Daily Online on Nengchu-1 at Yingcheng (January 10, 2025) and pv magazine and Enerdata on the 600 MW / 2.4 GWh Huai'an plant in Jiangsu (January 27, 2026); and Northland Power's Oneida commercial operations release (May 7, 2025) for the delivered cost.

Note on sourcing: no measured round-trip efficiency, availability, capacity factor or dispatch record for Goderich could be located from Hydrostor, NRStor or the IESO. The Goderich IESO contract term, the Baker Hughes and Hatch equity amounts, Willow Rock's total capital cost, Hydrostor's global headcount, the Hydrostor and NRStor ownership split at Goderich and the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte equity percentage are not public and are not estimated here.

This profile is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. Hydrostor is a private company; information is limited to publicly disclosed sources, and its performance and pipeline figures are company claims unless otherwise attributed.

← Back to all profilesUpdated Aug 2026
© 2026 Blizzard Power. All rights reserved.